UT Surgical Research News     More about our research residents     Surgical Research Conferences     UTHSCSA Office of Sponsored Programs

Surgery Research News

Dr. Michael Johnson Presents at EAST (2018-01-22)

Dr. Alarhayem wins Regional ACS-COT Honor (2017-11-20)

Six Trauma Research Projects Selected for Presentation at Military Health System Research Symposium (2017-08-27)

More research news...


Recent publications

Buehner MF, Eastridge BJ, Aden JK, DuBose JJ, Blackbourne LH, Cestero RF. Combat casualties and severe shock: risk factors for death at role 3 military facilities. Mil Med. 2017 Sep;182(9):e1922-e1928. PMID: 28885956 View the abstract

Morris RS, Schaffer BS, Lundy JB, Pidcoke HF, Chung KK, Darlington DN, Cap AP,Schwacha MG. Immunopathological response to severe injury: platelet activation and the Th-17 immune response. Blood Coagul Fibrinolysis. 2017 Sep 27. doi:10.1097/MBC.0000000000000665. [Epub ahead of print] PubMed PMID: 28957941. View the abstract

Chitragari G, Laux AT, Hicks TD, Davies MG, Haidar GM. Rare presentation of a syphilitic aneurysm of the infra-renal aorta with contained rupture. Ann Vasc Surg. 2017 Sep 5. pii: S0890-5096(17)30963-9. PMID: 28887247 View the abstract

More publications...

Trauma Immunopathology Lab 2015 Research Residents 2014 Research Residents 2013 Research Residents 2009 Research Residents Trauma Immunopathology Lab 2010 Research Residents Trauma Immunopathology Lab 2011 Research Residents 2012 Research Residents 2013 Research Residents



Surgery Research News - Per Academic Year


View Research News by Academic Year:


Photo Dr. Michael Johnson Presents at EAST
Congratulations to Michael C. Johnson, MD, who presented research results at the 31st Annual Scientific Assembly of the Eastern Association of the Surgery of Trauma (EAST) meeting in Lake Buena Vista, FL, in January 2018. The presentation was titled "Compensatory Reserve Index and Pulse Character: Enhancement Potential to Predict Casualty Urgency after Injury." Dr. Johnson conducted two years of research as a General Surgery Research Resident under the mentorship of Dr. Brian Eastridge.
January 22, 2018


Photo Dr. Alarhayem wins Regional ACS-COT Honor
Congratulations to Dr. Abdul Alarhayem (PGY5) whose abstract was selected as one of the top two abstracts at the American College of Surgeons Committee on Trauma (ACS-COT) Region 6 resident paper competition! As a regional winner, he will move on to the National ACS-COT resident paper competition. The regional competition was held on November 18 and included the top abstracts from NM, AR, LA, OK, North TX, and South TX. His research previously won at the South Texas ACS-COT level, qualifying him to advance to Regional competition.

Dr. Alarhayem collaborated with Dr. Ramon Cestero, Associate Professor, Trauma and Emergency Surgery, on a project titled “Application of EMR-derived analytics in critical care: Rothman Index predicts mortality and readmission in surgical ICU patients.”
November 20, 2017


Photo Six Trauma Research Projects Selected for Presentation at Military Health System Research Symposium
Six trauma-related research projects from the Department of Surgery will be presented at the Military Health System Research Symposium (MHSRS) held in Kissimmee, FL in August 2017. The studies are authored or co-authored by 19 faculty, staff, and research residents. Presenters and co-authors include: Dr. Abdul Alarhayem, Dr. Andre Cap, Dr. Dani Cobb, Dr. Christopher Crane, Mark DeRosa CRT, Dr. Brian Eastridge, Dr. Eva Galvan, Dr. Donald Jenkins, Dr. Michael Johnson, Rachelle Jonas RN, Dr. Aaron Lewis, Dr. Lillian Liao, Daniel Merrill, Dr. John Myers, Dr. Susannah Nicholson, Dr. Meenakshi Rani, Dr. Nicholas Robbins, Dr. Martin Schwacha, and Shannon Scroggins. The MHSRS is the Department of Defense’s premier scientific meeting, and draws approximately 2,300 attendees. It provides a venue for presenting new scientific knowledge resulting from military-unique research and development. The MHSRS is the only military or civilian meeting that focuses specifically on the unique medical needs of the warfighter.
August 27, 2017


Photo Funding News for Dr. Ismail Jatoi
Congratulations to Dr. Ismail Jatoi, Director of the Division of Surgical Oncology, who is a co-investigator in a recently awarded, five-year NIH grant. He will work with Dr. Rong Li of Molecular Medicine on a National Cancer Institute-funded R01 study titled “Crosstalk between BRCA1 and Transcription in Breast Cancer.” Dr. Jatoi role will provide his clinical expertise and insight to the study which aims to determine the lineage-specific etiology of BRCA1-associated breast cancer.
August 01, 2017


Photo Dr. Michael Johnson Earns MSCI Degree!
Congratulations to Dr. Michael Johnson, who received his Master of Science in Clinical Investigation (MSCI) degree in June! The MSCI degree is earned after completion of a unique program allowing physicians to be trained in core areas necessary to conduct safe clinical, translational, and basic science research. Under the mentorship of Dr. Brian Eastridge, the MSCI degree program was completed during Dr. Johnson’s two years as a General Surgery Research Resident.
July 01, 2017


Top of page